The Eagles resume “Hotel California” tour at Madison Square Garden


The Eagles hit the road on Tuesday, August 24, launching their rescheduling California Hotel tour at Madison Square Garden in New York.

The show, which was originally scheduled for August 22 but was postponed due to Hurricane Henri, marked the group’s first live performance since March 2020, when they were forced to reschedule their then recently launched. California Hotel tour due to the pandemic. A few weeks before the announcement of the cancellation, the band played three evenings at the Garden in February 2020.

Currently, the group’s main lineup includes surviving Eagles members Don Henley, Joe Walsh and Timothy B. Schmit, as well as the late Glenn Frey’s son, Deacon Frey, touring guitarist Steuart Smith and singer-songwriter. country Vince Gill.

“My God, it’s good to see you, thank you for coming,” said Henley as she thanked the crowd for her cooperation with MSG’s vaccination mandate, “you understand that with freedom comes responsibility.”

“You can only watch a number of sports,” Deacon Frey added later, “it’s so nice to be here, this energy is crazy.”

The group kicked off the night performing their entire 1976 album, topping the charts, before returning for a second set of bigger hits. “Peaceful Easy Feeling”, “Witchy Woman” and “Lyin ‘Eyes” were among the classic tunes performed. A handful of non-Eagles songs have also been included: Don Henley’s co-writing with Mike Campbell of Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, “Boys of Summer” and two James Gang covers, “Walk Away” and “Funk # 49 “.

The group was supported periodically throughout the evening by a choir and orchestra conducted by Jim Ed Norman, the composer who contributed to the string arrangements for the original. California Hotel album.

You can get a full list of the show below.

Several of the songs were performed in honor of fellow musicians who died last week – Walsh dedicated “Life’s Been Good” to Rolling Stones drummer Charlie Watts, who passed away on August 24, while Henley dedicated “Best of My Love” . the last song of the evening, both Watts and Don Everly, who passed away earlier this week.

“We have lost two giants in the last few days,” said Henley. “So let’s sing it so they can hear us.”

The Eagles will perform a second show at Madison Square Garden on August 25, before touring across the United States. The group will end the trip in November at a vaccine-only concert in Seattle, Wash.

The Eagles, Madison Square Garden 08/24/21, Set List

Define a:
1. “Hotel Californie”
2. “New child in town”
3. “Life on the Fast Lane”
4. “Lost time”
5. “Lost time” (Resumption)
6. “Victim of love”
7. “Pretty Maids All in a Row”
8. “Try and love again”
9. “The last resort”

Second series:
1. “The road of the seven bridges”
2. “Relax”
3. “One of those nights”
4. “Take it to limit”
5. “Tequila Sunrise”
6. “Witch woman”
7. “In the city
8. “I can’t tell you why”
9. “Peaceful and easy feeling”
10. “Love will keep us alive”
11. “The lying eyes”
12. “These shoes”
13. “Get away”
14. “Life has been good”
15. “Take it easy”
16. “The boys of summer”
17. “Funk # 49”
18. “Calm of heart tonight”

1. “Chemin des Rocheuses”
2. “Desperado”
3. “The long term”
4. “The best of my love”

The concerts are coming back: opening night shots for great rock acts

As the world slowly begins to reopen, the artists plan to return to the stage.

Source link


Comments are closed.