How to connect to the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games

0


CBC, Canada’s Olympic network, will provide full coverage of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games from Friday July 23 through Sunday August 8, 2021.

Watch live broadcasts from all venues and every Canadian medal moment, totaling over 3,775 hours of live content across the public broadcaster’s multiple platforms. Additionally, broadcast partners TSN and Sportsnet will once again provide live event coverage, giving audiences multiple options as to what to watch each day.

Tokyo 2020 will feature a record 33 sports and 339 medal-winning events at 42 competition venues. Team Canada will be one of more than 11,000 athletes representing 206 countries participating in the Games.

Opening ceremony

Tokyo 2020 officially begins on Friday, July 23 at 6:30 a.m. ET (3:30 a.m. PT) with the highly anticipated Opening Ceremony hosted by Primetime of the Olympic Games host Scott russell and The National Adrienne Arsenault.

The festivities begin at 6:30 a.m. ET (3:30 a.m. PT) with the pre-ceremony show, hosted by Olympic Games morning‘s Andi Petrillo, creating anticipation for what is to come. Starting at 7 a.m. ET (4 a.m. PT), Scott Russell will lead the Canadians through the Opening Ceremony, including Team Canada’s entry into the Parade of Nations, led for the first time by two flag bearers in a display by all nations of these gender balanced Games. He will be joined in the studio by special contributor and author Mark Sakamoto, who will bring his own unique ideas to the show. Meanwhile, Adrienne Arsenault will be on hand in the stadium to offer another perspective. A prime-time broadcast of the Opening Ceremony will also air on CBC at 7 p.m. ET (4 p.m. PT).

The opening and closing ceremonies will be presented in an accessible manner with closed captioning, described video and ASL integrations

It will also be offered in eight indigenous languages including the Eastern Cree, Dehcho Dene, Dënësųłinë́ YaÅ‚tı, Gwichʼin, Inuktitut, Inuvialuktun, Sahtu Dene and Tłı̨chÇ«. For more information on CBC / Radio-Canada’s multilingual coverage, click on here.

Canadians won’t miss a moment of the excitement of Olympic Stadium, with live coverage on CBC, CBC News Network, TSN and Sportsnet. Live broadcasts of the opening ceremony will also be available via the CBC Gem streaming service, CBC’s dedicated Tokyo 2020 website (cbc.ca/tokyo2020), and the CBC Olympics app for ios and Android devices.

PREOLYMPIC COVER

CBC’s pre-Olympic coverage will begin Wednesday, July 21 at 2 a.m. ET (July 20 at 11 p.m. PT) with Canada’s women’s softball team preparing to take on Mexico. Then, at 6:30 a.m. ET (3:30 a.m. PT), the National Women’s Soccer Team faces host nation Japan. The full schedule of events for Tokyo 2020 can be found here.

Find live broadcasts, must-see videos, breaking news and more in a perfect Olympic Games package. Following Team Canada has never been easier or more exciting.

More from Tokyo 2020

Watch on TV, Online, Download the CBC Olympic App, Stream on CBC Gem

Throughout the Toyko 2020 Olympics, start your day with Olympic Games morning 6 a.m. to 12 p.m. ET (3 a.m. to 9 a.m. PT) and listen to the latest medal count and coverage on Primetime of the Olympic Games at 7:00 p.m. – midnight ET (4:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. PT). Stay connected and up to date through CBC’s dedicated Tokyo 2020 website (cbc.ca/tokyo2020) and downloading the CBC Olympics app to ios and Android devices as well as CBC Gem, which will feature live streaming of the shows, including the opening and closing ceremonies, as well as non-televised events, representing more than 2,500 hours of live coverage.

Visit cbc.ca/tokyo2020: it offers full event schedules, results, athlete biographies and features, daily updates and more. Additionally, exclusive coverage will be provided by CBC Sports, including in-depth reporting, highlights, digital series and on-demand reruns of all of the most exciting times and events.

For a full list of commentators and analysts, click here.

Andrew Chang, Alexandre Despatie, Scott Russell, Andi Petrillo, Perdita Felicien and Heather Hiscox are among the Tokyo 2020 Olympics hosts for CBC’s extensive coverage. (SRC)

Tokyo 2020 daily schedule

PRIMETIME OLYMPIC GAMES hosted by Scott russell
7:00 p.m. – midnight ET (4:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. PT) on CBC TV and CBC Gem
After covering 14 Olympics for CBC, five as host, seasoned broadcaster Scott Russell brings his vast experience, passion and knowledge to the Primetime block of the Olympics. Most of the evening will focus on medals in key sports including swimming, track and field, marathons, rowing, canoe / kayak, golf and round robin team sports.

OLYMPIC GAMES OVERNIGHT hosted by Alexandre Despatie and Heather hiscox
12:00 AM – 6:00 AM ET (9:00 PM – 3:00 AM PT) on CBC TV and CBC Gem
CBC News Network presenter Heather Hiscox is making her debut as a co-host of the Olympics, having contributed to the last eight Games on CBC as a reporter and host for the CBC News team. She’ll keep audiences awake all night with her energetic personality and unique perspective, alongside Canada’s most decorated male diver, two-time Olympic silver medalist and three-time world champion Alexandre Despatie returning for his fourth appearance in as a co-co-Olympics. host on CBC. The late night show will focus on diving, tennis, gymnastics, trampoline, cycling, soccer and team sports round robin.

MORNING OF THE OLYMPIC GAMES hosted by Andi Petrillo
6 a.m. to 12 p.m. ET (3 a.m. to 9 a.m. PT) on CBC TV and CBC Gem
Returning for her fourth Olympics on CBC as a host, Andi Petrillo brings considerable athletic and game knowledge to all of the sports she covers. Known for her sharp wit and talent for storytelling, Petrillo will provide audiences with overnight “just in case you missed it” updates, medal speeches and athlete interviews, focusing on gold medals in team sports, including volleyball, basketball and baseball, track and field finals, and swimming races. .

TOKYO TODAY hosted by Perdita Felicien and Andrew Chang
12 p.m. to 6 p.m. ET (9 a.m. to 3 p.m. PT) on CBC TV and CBC Gem
Two-time Olympian and world hurdler Perdita Felicien, who teams up with The National Andrew Chang for TOKYO TODAY. This daily program will provide the audience with the main storylines of the day, athlete profiles and previews of upcoming events. Felicien is no stranger to the Olympics scene, having competed in Sydney and Athens and having covered the last three Games as a member of the CBC Olympics broadcast team. Meanwhile, Chang returns to the studio office for his third Olympics as a co-organizer.

CBC RADIO
CBC Radio One listeners will stay up to date with the five-minute Olympic report LIVE at: 25, every hour during regional morning, noon and afternoon broadcasts, providing athlete and team news. Canadian. CBC Radio’s flagship news programs World Report, World This Hour and World at Six will also feature live and reportage reports from CBC News, bringing together information from the field in Japan.

Radio-Canada CHILDREN
For audiences of all ages, CBC Kids will continue its award-winning coverage on cbckids.ca/olympics. Children and families are encouraged to visit the site in the months leading up to Tokyo 2020 and throughout the 16 days of competition to familiarize themselves with all the best scenarios, play fun games, watch informative videos and learn more about their athletes, favorite sports. , and the people and country of Japan.

CBC NEWS
CBC News will also keep Canadians up to date with the latest news with a team of journalists on the ground in Tokyo, around the world and across the country on THE NATIONAL, CBC News Network, CBC Radio, cbcnews.ca and local CBC TV news broadcasts.

PROGRAMMING NOTE

During the Olympics, local news broadcasts will be scheduled weekdays from 6:00 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. ET, followed by Coronation Street.


Share.

Comments are closed.