Canadian Hockey League announces new multi-year broadcast partnerships – WHL Network


Toronto, Ont. – The Canadian Hockey League today announced new multi-platform, multi-year broadcast rights partnerships that will make TSN, RDS and CBC the home of the CHL.

Beginning in the 2021-22 season, the new partnerships include approximately 30 regular season games each year offered by TSN, in addition to selected playoff coverage and the full lineup of CHL national events. In addition, the agreement includes approximately 20 games broadcast in French on RDS, early-season weekend games broadcast by CBC Sports, as well as digital broadcast rights featuring a CHL television show each week during the regular season on TSN, RDS and the free channel CBC Gem streaming service.

“The CHL is committed to continuing to connect with our fans and engage our growing audience in new ways and these broadcast partners are the perfect fit to help us achieve this,” said League President. Canadian hockey player, Dan MacKenzie. “We are delighted to be back on the ice alongside our new partners, as our season starting on CBC and TSN / RDS is home to our biggest national events, including the Memorial Cup presented by Kia. “

The CHL drops the puck for the 2021-22 season this fall in an exciting new year that includes the stars of tomorrow in Connor Bedard of the Regina Pats, Shane Wright of the Kingston Frontenacs and Antonin Verreault of the Gatineau Olympiques . The upcoming season will also see the return of the Memorial Cup presented by Kia, with Quebec, Que., And Saint John, New Brunswick, currently under consideration as host markets.

About the Canadian Hockey League
The Canadian Hockey League is the largest developmental hockey league in the world with 52 Canadian teams and eight American teams participating in the Ontario Hockey League, the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League and the Hockey League. from West. The CHL supplies more players to the National Hockey League and U SPORTS than any other league.

About the Western Hockey League
Considered the best development league in the world for junior hockey players, the headquarters of the Western Hockey League (WHL) is based in Calgary, Alberta. The WHL is made up of 22 member clubs, 17 of which are located in Western Canada and five in the American Pacific Northwest. A member of the Canadian Hockey League, the WHL has been a major talent supplier to the National Hockey League for over 50 years. The WHL is also the leading provider of hockey scholarships with over 375 graduates each year receiving scholarships from the WHL to pursue post-secondary education of their choice. Each season, WHL players also form the nucleus of Canada’s National Junior Hockey Team.


Comments are closed.